Confessions of a Curious Mind

January 1, 2010

The “Before” Stats

Filed under: Health — Ms Curious @ 9:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have now weighed and measured myself. Let’s say I’m still in shock!

Before I post the figures, here’s a little history about my weight. From sometime in high school to my late-twenties my weight had been around the 72kg mark. At 170cm I was a bit overweight. During that period my exercise levels ranged from avid bushwalker, Body Pump class regular to couch potato, but the weight didn’t vary much. Most of my friends at that point are fairly slim so it dragged down by confidence a touch, but thankfully it was never a major issue for me.

The first material change in my weight was in February 2006. My wedding was 8 months away and like any bride-to-be, I wanted to look good on the day. So I was determined to lose some weight. I didn’t have a grand plan, from recollection I was to continue exercising, cut down on snacks and control portion sizes.

Then the strangest thing happen, my weight started to fall before I really tried. It went down to 65kg and I was stoked. I was a size 10 for the first time since I became an adult.

I managed to keep most of the weight off too, only fluctuating within a narrow band.

All that changed when I became pregnant in mid-2008. Weight gain is normal during pregnancy of course but I gained over 25kg which was definitely not normal!

The weight slowly dropped off in the course of the last year (breastfeeding helped, also I went to a personal trainer once a week), I was down to 72kg by late October.

Things went south on our November Fiji trip. With heavy food and zero exercise my weight loss stopped. And last month … the less said about it the better :LOL:

So here it goes: My current weight is 75kg (average over 4 weigh-ins). According to the scales 31.3% of my weight is fat. Yikes!

And my measurements are equally depressing (in cm).

Bust – 95
Just below bust – 81
Waist – 87 (aghhh!)
Hips – 103
Left bicep – 29
Left thigh – 60

Well, knowing this certainly stopped me from indulging on sweets today. I can’t let it get any worse, that’s for sure!

My plan is the same as last time. Cut down on fatty food and snacks, eat reasonable portions, and resume exercising. I’m thinking about seeing a nutritionist to get some advice on the food part of the equation, and with the exercise I have to find a way to fit it into my schedule.

I’ll maintain a food and exercise diary on this blog to keep myself accountable.

My goal is to get back down to 65kg by the end of June. 10 kg in 6 months is definitely doable.

Wish me luck!

Ms Curious

Happy New Year and Welcome

Filed under: General — Ms Curious @ 9:16 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

New Year’s Eve 2009 – 003, originally uploaded by dr.r.lam on flickr.



Welcome to my new blog.

First of all, some info about me. I’m:

• in my mid-thirties
• partner of Mr Curious for 6+ years and wife for 3+ years
• mum of The Little Guy, who is turning 1 in 2 weeks
• working part time at The Company
• a Pieces
• a daydreamer
• a food lover
• curious about life and the world (thus the blog title)

I blogged a few times before but the blogs were topic-specific and I ran out of things to say after a while. So this blog is going to be freeform – from happenings and observations of my life as a woman/wife/mum/citizen of the world, my new purchases, reviews, to completely random thoughts that come into my mind way too often.

I’m also going to use this blog to hold myself accountable to my new year live healthy plan. Yes, 50%+ of the population vow to lose weight/exercise/go on a diet in the new year but promptly forget about it. I don’t want to be part of that statistics.

So later today I’m going to weigh and measure myself and post the figures up here! And I will do so every 2 weeks. Hopefully the numbers will come down in due course. I may take some “before” photos as well but for your benefit I will keep those to myself 😆

Wishing you all a great 2010.

Yours sincerely
Ms Curious

Blog at WordPress.com.