Confessions of a Curious Mind

January 18, 2010

Food Diary – 12 to 17 Jan

Filed under: Food Diary — Ms Curious @ 4:39 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s hard when you lose momentum with blogging. I have memory of a goldfish so I can’t remember half of what I had in the last few days. Below is what I can savage from my brain.

12 Jan lunch – Ipoh Hor Fun at Malaysian House, Hunter Connection. Ipoh Hor Fun is a soup noodle with chicken and prawn.

Ipoh hor fun

I found a recipe whilst searching for the above picture. I may give it a go … I wonder if I can just use chicken pieces rather than a whole chicken?

13 Jan dinner – lamb kebabs marinated with mint, rosemary and honey.

14 Jan dinnerPork chops with baked apples. I used Granny Smith instead of red apple as suggested in the recipe but it is equally tasty.

I really like the comments section of the Taste website, I followed their advice to bake the apples for longer and it is much better. A hint to anyone interested in trying this dish – eat the pork and the apple in the same mouthful, their flavours really complement each other.

15 Jan lunch – Seafood paella from Ministry of Food on Bligh Street. Paella is one of those dishes that I will never make myself, it’s just too much work!

16 Jan lunch – lunch at Ripples Chowder Bay to celebrate The Little Guy’s first birthday, I will blog about it separately.

16 Jan dinner – Lamb chops, coated with wasabi flavoured olive oil and lightly seasoned with salt and pepper, cooked medium rare. Simple but so good.

17 Jan dinner Fast chicken tagine

Quick chicken tagine

Are you detecting a trend on where my recipes come from?

This is my second attempt. I forgot to buy green olives the first time and the dish wasn’t as good without them. Also, I used slivered almonds rather than flaked almonds and it was an improvement, gave the dish a nice crunch. I mucked up the cooking of the couscous though by putting in a bit too much liquid.

There were a fair bit of leftovers so this is likely to be dinner tonight as well.

The definite lowlight in the last few days was that I finished the box of Guylian shells. It was a failed attempt in portion control. In retrospect I should have known better!  Also I didn’t eat as much vegetables as I’d like.

Overall, my food intake was not as good as it should be. I am going to do some research on GI because I am running out of energy on days when I’m at work (like today).

I am late for my weigh in and measure as well. I may have to postpone that to Wednesday when I am not working.  I don’t think there will be much change.

Running behind schedule …

Filed under: General — Ms Curious @ 2:44 pm

Please be patient – I will be writing new posts soon. There are so much to catch up on because last week was busy – The Little Guy’s first week at child care, as well as his first birthday.

Blog at WordPress.com.